On Air Early Breakfast Chris Williams | 5:00am - 7:30am

Douglas North (2015)

House of Keys by election for Douglas North on May 21, 2015.

About Douglas North (2015) 
Douglas is the capital of the Isle of Man and the main centre of the Island's successful financial services industry. It is the home of the only tricameral - or three chambered - parliamentary system in the British Commonwealth, with the Tynwald, House of Keys and Legislative Council chambers all located in the legislative buildings on Bucks Road. Douglas took over from Castletown as the capital of the Isle of Man in 1864, and ten years later the House of Keys moved to its current home. North Douglas includes the large public open spaces of Noble's Park and Glencrutchery Road, the whole of Willaston and the new houses beyond Johnny Watterson's Lane in the area of the new lawn cemetery. It is a two seat constituency and the current member of the House of Keys for Douglas North, John Houghton, has served the constituency since 1996. The by election has been triggered by the elevation of former Douglas North MHK Bill Henderson to the Legislative Council in March this year.

Number of Constituents (2015)
The total number of eligible voters in Douglas West in the 2011 general election was 4761 and the turnout for the constituency was 50.4 per cent.

Number of Seats (2015)

Census Information (20153)
The Isle of Man census does not record separate statistics for each of the four House of Keys constituencies in Douglas, but in 2011 the overall population of the capital was recorded as 27,935.

Candidates declared (2015)

Returning Officer (2015)

Mr L Keenan

Polling Stations (2015): Open 8.00am to 8.00pm

Polling District 1: Willaston - Willaston Methodist Church, Barrule Road, Willaston, Douglas (Willaston Estate including Julian Road, Glen Park Drive, Hillberry Close, Richmond Close, Oakhill Close)

Polling District 2: Willaston - Cronk y Berry School, Hailwood Avenue, Governors Hill, Douglas (Cronk y Berry including Abbey Fields, Governors Hill)

Polling District 3: Glencrutchery - Project 21 Centre (A), Greenfield Road, Douglas (Voters on Glencrutchery electoral roll)

Polling District 4: St Ninians - Project 21 Centre (A), Greenfield Road, Douglas (Voters on St Ninians electoral roll)