On Air Greatest Hits Chris Kinley | 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Douglas South (2011)

House of Keys general election on September 29, 2011.

About Douglas South (2011)
Douglas is the capital of the Isle of Man and the main centre of the Island's successful financial services industry. It is the home of the only tricameral - or three chambered - parliamentary system in the British Commonwealth, with the Tynwald, House of Keys and Legislative Council chambers all located in the legislative buildings on Bucks Road. Douglas took over from Castletown as the capital of the Isle of Man in 1864, and ten years later the House of Keys moved to its current home. South Douglas includes the Pulrose, Spring Valley and Anagh Coar local authority housing estates, and further residential areas at Ballaughton and farmhill. Also in the constituency are the National Sports Centre and Douglas golf course, and the industrial area along Peel Road. The current MHKs, David Cretney and Bill Malarkey, have served South Douglas since 1985 and 2006 respectively.

Number of Constituents (2011)

Number of Seats (2011)

Census Information (2011)
The Isle of Man census does not record separate statistics for each of the four House of Keys constituencies in Douglas, but in 2006 the overall population of the capital was recorded as 26,218. The total number of registered electors in the town at that time was 14,996 which represented 57.2 per cent of the population. In the 2006 general election the turnout in South Douglas was 57.55 per cent, which was the highest of the four constituencies in the capital, but the fourth lowest of the 14 Island-wide in which there were contests. In that year, 29.15 cent of registered voters in the capital lived in South Douglas.

Candidates declared (2011)

Returning Officer (2011)

Mr E P Kerruish
Gough & Co,
5th floor,
Anglo International House,
North Quay,
Tel: (01624) 623919
Email: Mr E P Kerruish

Polling Stations (2011): Open 8.00am to 8.00pm

Polling District 1: Quay - The Warehouse next to the Plumb & Parts Center, South Quay, Douglas

Polling District 2: St Georges - The Warehouse next to the Plumb & Parts Center, South Quay, Douglas

Polling District 3: Pulrose - Pulrose Methodist Church, Pulrose Road, Pulrose, Douglas

Polling District 4: Anagh Coar - Anagh Coar Primary School, Anagh Coar, Douglas

Polling District 5: Ballaughton (COUNT) - Scoill Vallajeelt, Meadow Crescent, Ballaughton, Douglas