On Air Night Flight | Midnight - 5:00am

Douglas West (2013)

House of Keys by election for Douglas West on May 23, 2013.

About Douglas West (2013) 
Douglas is the capital of the Isle of Man and the main centre of the Island's successful financial services industry. It is the home of the only tricameral - or three chambered - parliamentary system in the British Commonwealth, with the Tynwald, House of Keys and Legislative Council chambers all located in the legislative buildings on Bucks Road. Douglas took over from Castletown as the capital of the Isle of Man in 1864, and ten years later the House of Keys moved to its current home. West Douglas is largely residential, and includes Ballabrooie, the Port E Chee and Bray Hill area and Tromode Park. It is a two seat constituency and the current member of the House of Keys for Douglas West, John Shimmin, has served the constituency since 1996. The by election has been triggered by the elevation of former Douglas West MHK Geoff Corkish to the Legislative Council in March this year.

Number of Constituents (2013)
The total number of eligible voters in Douglas West in the 2011 general election was 4044 and the turnout for the constituency was 55.79 per cent.

Number of Seats (2013)

Census Information (2013)
The Isle of Man census does not record separate statistics for each of the four House of Keys constituencies in Douglas, but in 2011 the overall population of the capital was recorded as 27,935.

Candidates declared (2013)

Returning Officer (2013)

Mr C M Brooks

Polling Stations (2013): Open 8.00am to 8.00pm

Polling District 1: Garden City - Sea Cadet Hall, Tromode

Polling District 2: Somerset - St Andrew's Church Hall, St Ninian's Corner, Glencrutchery

Polling District 3: Albany - All Saints Church Hall, Alexander Drive

Polling District 4: Ballabrooie - All Saints Church Hall, Alexander Drive

Polling District 5: Eastfield - Trinity Methodist Church Hall, Rosemount