On Air The Morning Show Marc Tyley | 9:30am - Noon

Douglas East (2015)

House of Keys by election for Douglas East on November  12, 2015.

About Douglas East (2015) 
Douglas is the capital of the Isle of Man and the main centre of the Island's successful financial services industry. It is the home of the only tricameral - or three chambered - parliamentary system in the British Commonwealth, with the Tynwald, House of Keys and Legislative Council chambers all located in the legislative buildings on Bucks Road. Douglas took over from Castletown as the capital of the Isle of Man in 1864, and ten years later the House of Keys moved to its current home. Douglas East is the traditional home of the Isle of Man's tourism industry, and its large number of hotels, guest houses and rental properties is thought to be a reason for its low election turnouts. The four Douglas constituencies each have two members in the House of Keys. Chris Robertshaw has represented the constituency since being elected at a by election in 2010, and Brenda Cannell has served the constituency since the 1996 general election. The by election has been triggered by Mrs Cannell's decision to retire from Manx politics in October this year.

Number of Constituents (2015)
The total number of eligible voters in Douglas East in the 2011 general election was 4136 and the turnout for the constituency was 40.7 per cent.

Number of Seats (2015)

Census Information (20153)
The Isle of Man census does not record separate statistics for each of the four House of Keys constituencies in Douglas, but in 2011 the overall population of the capital was recorded as 27,935.

Candidates declared (2015)

Returning Officer (2015)

Mr Terence P McDonald

Polling Stations (2015): Open 8.00am to 8.00pm

Polling District 1: Tynwald - Scout Hall, Demense Road, Douglas, IM1 3DW

Polling District 2: Crescent - Methodist Church, Loch Promenade, Douglas, IM1 2LY

Polling District 3: Strand - Douglas Town Hall, Ridgeway Street, Douglas, IM1 2LY

Polling District 4: Windsor - Methodist Church, Loch Promenade, Douglas, IM1 2LY

Polling District 5: Derby - Douglas Youth Arts Centre, Kensington Road, Douglas, IM1 3EG