On Air Greatest Hits Chris Kinley | 6:30pm - 9:00pm

Alfred Cannan appointed as Chief Minister

Treasury Minister elected by Members of the House of Keys

Alfred Cannan, MHK for Ayre and Michael, has been elected as the chief minister of the Isle of Man.

He went up against Ramsey MHK Dr Alex Allinson for the position. 

The treasury minister received 14 votes to the education minister's eight.

Two members spoilt their ballots.

The votes were cast as follows: 

Dr Alex Allinson
Dr Alex Allinson
Mrs Daphne Caine
Mrs Claire Christian
Ms Joney Faragher
Dr Michelle Haywood
Mr Lawrie Hooper
Mrs Sarah Maltby
Speaker, Juan Watterson

Alfred Cannan
Mr David Ashford
Mrs Clare Barber
Mr Rob Callister
Mr Alfred Cannan
Mrs Ann Corlett
Mr Tim Crookall
Ms Julie Edge
Mr Tim Glover
Mr Tim Johnston
Ms Kate Lord-Brennan
Mr Jason Moorhouse
Mr Stuart Peters
Mrs Jane Poole-Wilson
Mr Andrew Smith

Spoilt ballots

Mr Chris Thomas

Mr John Wannenburgh


The election of Mr Cannan as Chief Minister was settled with a confirmatory vote, with 21 members voting For and three Against.

Mr Ashford
Mr Moorhouse
Dr Allinson
Mrs Barber
Mrs Caine
Mr Callister
Mr Cannan
Mrs Christian
Mrs Corlett
Mr Crookall
Ms Edge
Mr Glover
Dr Haywood
Mr Hooper
Mr Johnston
Ms Lord-Brennan
Mr Peters
Mrs Poole-Wilson
Mr Smith
Mr Thomas

Ms Faragher
Mrs Maltby
Mr Wannenburgh

More from Isle of Man News