On Air The Morning Show Marc Tyley | 9:30am - Noon

New departmental and statutory board line-up revealed


The new line-up of departmental members and chairs of statutory boards has been announced.



Among them, Michael MHK Alf Cannan will head up the new Manx Utilities Authority.



His roles on the employers' side of the Whitley Council and the Civil Service Commission have been taken by East Douglas MHK Chris Robertshaw.



Former postman Graham Cregeen, the Malew and Santon MHK, is the new chairman of the Isle of Man Post Office.



MLCs Phil Braidwood and Alex Downie have been joined as members for treasury by North Douglas MHK Bill Henderson.



Mr Henderson was removed from Treasury in January last year following a row over voting on tuition fees.



Former Health Minister David Anderson has been given a position in the Department of Education and Children.

David Cretney is back in charge of Tourism and Motorsport, something he has taken to Facebook to express his delight about. He's been made the member with responsibility for those areas within the Department of Economic Development. Just three Tynwald members - MHKs Brenda Cannell, Zac Hall and Peter Karran - hold no positions within government. A full list of the new line-up can be seen on the news page of the government's website.


More from Isle of Man News