On Air Night Flight | 1:00am - 5:00am

'Our Island Plan' approved by Tynwald

Cannan administration's five year strategy supported by members

Government's five year 'Our Island Plan' has been voted through Tynwald.

After a lengthy debate, at today's extraordinary sitting of the court, members voted to approve the new administration's five year vision document.

Twenty-one members of the House of Keys supported the amended motion to pass the document with three voting against.

The three who didn't support the plan were Juan Watterson, Chris Thomas and Claire Christian. 

The nine members of the Legislative Council voted in favour of the document.

In his closing remarks, before members voted, Chief Minister Alfred Cannan said politicians had to regard themselves as ‘visionaries’

More from Isle of Man News