On Air The Late Show Stu Peters | 10:00pm - 1:00am

Big changes ahead of Cricket season

Just 11 days until the start

There are big changes ahead in the new Manx Cricket Season which starts on Saturday 30th April.
Six sides will compete in the Premiership with Valkyres being replaced by the Schools Eleven.

This side played well in the Tinker and Blincoe Cups last year and now have a great chance to gain more experience.

Simon Beard will manage the team which consists of the cream of the Isle of Man schools plus several more experienced players.
In the T20 leagues, the Cain moves to Monday evening with two divisions, each of four teams.

The top section consists of Castletown, Crosby, Cronkbourne and Peel & St John’s.

The lower league has Valkyres, Union Mills, Finch Hill and Ramsey. 

The sides in each division will first play each other, home and away.

Then at mid-season there is promotion and relegation with two up and two down.

 In the revised leagues, teams play each other home and away.
The Forrester T20 is on Wednesdays with eleven teams who play each other once.

At the end of the season there will be play-offs.

Entered are Castletown, Union Mills, Finch Hill, Ramsey plus three elevens from Cronkbourne and two each from Crosby and Peel & St John’s.

More from Isle of Man Sport