On Air Time for Brass Ian Cottier | 9:00pm - 10:00pm

Dunlop and Molyneux/Farrance set the pace

There were familiar faces at the front as TT 2013 officially got underway.

Michael Dunlop was the quickest in the first official session for Lightweight machines as he completed a lap of the circuit at 113.56mph, swiftly followed by Ivan Lintin, Michael Rutter, Conor Cummins and James Hillier.

Dave Molyneux and Patrick Farrance led the way in the sidecars, upping their pace on their second circuit to 111.28 to top the leaderboard, with Conrad Harrison/Mike Aylott moving up with a speed of 109.96.

The newcomers were given their speed controlled lap, under the guidance of rider liaison officer Richard Quayle, and rapidly got to grips with the course.

Josh Brookes topped the leaderboard in an impressive 114.620 - becoming the quickest newcomer ever on an opening night in the process - closely followed by Branko Srdanov with a lap of 113.80mph and Dean Harrison.

The first full qualifying session for Superbike, Supersport and Superstock classes takes place on Monday evening with the Superbike, Superstock and Supersport session underway at 6.20pm and the Sidecars at 8pm.

Castletown resident Chris Palmer earlier won the opening Blackford's Pre-TT Classic Road Race at Billown.

He finished ahead of Bill Swallow and Richard Hawkins in the 250/350cc race.

The opening sidecar race was won by Mike Bellaby and Karl Underwood.

More from Isle of Man Sport