On Air The Afternoon Show Alex Brindley | 3:00pm - 5:30pm

McGuinness will be first away at TT 2024

23-time winner will make 109th TT start

John McGuinness will be the first man away at the 2024 Isle of Man TT Races.

The Honda Racing UK rider will be carrying the number one plate for the superbike, superstock and senior TT races.

The 23-time winner will make his 109th TT start in the opening superbike race.

He’ll be followed by Jamie Coward on the KTS Racing powered by Steadplan Honda, who is now confirmed at number two for each of the solo classes.

Dean Harrison, Honda Racing UK’s newest recruit, will be at number three – he’s opted to start 10 seconds further back than he has done at three previous TT Races.

Ian Hutchinson and James Hillier will take the fourth and fifth spots with Michael Dunlop at sixth. 

Dunlop has yet to confirm his plans for the 1000cc classes but it’s widely assumed he’ll be on board a Honda CBR1000RR-R Fireblade SP as he bids to become the most successful rider in TT history.

Josh Brookes takes the number seven plate with Davey Todd setting off at number eight.

Craig Neve is promoted up the 1000cc order to number nine – in recognition of his near 131mph in last year’s Senior Race – and he’ll be followed by outright lap record holder Peter Hickman.

The complete top 20 for the 6-lap RST Superbike, RL360 Superstock Race 1, PE Superstock Race 2, and Milwaukee Senior TT Races at the 2024 Isle of Man TT Races is:

1.    John McGuinness – Honda Racing UK, Honda

2.    Jamie Coward – KTS Racing Powered by Steadplan, Honda

3.    Dean Harrison – Honda Racing UK, Honda

4.    Ian Hutchinson – Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles, Honda

5.    James Hillier – WTF Racing, Honda

6.    Michael Dunlop – TBA

7.    Josh Brookes – Monster Energy BMW by FHO Racing, BMW

8.    Davey Todd – Milwaukee BMW Motorrad, BMW

9.    Craig Neve – Bathams Ales, Honda

10.    Peter Hickman – Monster Energy BMW by FHO Racing, BMW

11.    Conor Cummins – Milenco by Padgett’s Motorcycles, Honda

12.    David Johnson – Platinum Club Racing Kawasaki, Kawasaki

13.    Lee Johnston – Ashcourt Racing, Honda

14.    Michael Rutter – Bathams Ales, BMW*

15.    Rob Hodson – SMT Racing, Honda

16.    Dominic Herbertson – Burrows Engineering by RK Racing, BMW

17.    Gary Johnson – Bill Smith Motors, Honda

18.    Shaun Anderson – Team Classic Suzuki, Suzuki

19.    Phillip Crowe – Nigel Appleyard Agri Wash, BMW

20.    Mike Browne - TBA

 * RST Superbike and Milwaukee Senior Races only

More from Isle of Man Sport