On Air Mannin Line Andy Wint | Noon - 1:00pm

Strong fields for Sports Awards

Winners will be worthy

There are strong shortlists for the 2016 Isle of Man Bank Sports Awards.

The winners will be announced at a gala presentation at the Villa Marina on Wednesday 22nd March.

Guest of Honour will be Olympic gold medal hockey player Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE.

The Sportsman of the Year award sees last year’s winner Tim Kneale facing competition from Olympic silver medallist Mark Cavendish, golfing star Tom Gandy, rally driver David Higgins, Enduro ace Daniel McCanney and cycling’s Peter Kennaugh.
The Sportswomen of the Year award features cycling duo Anna Christian and Elizabeth Holden as well as former under-21 winner Charlotte Atkinson, Isle of Man Hockey captain Kim Carney equestrian rider Yasmin Ingham and field archer Lesley Sleight.
The other categories are under-21 sportsman and sportswoman, team, coach, sports administrator, Isle of Man ambassador, veteran sportsperson and disability sportsperson.

A full list of the nominations can be found on the Manx Radio website.

More from Isle of Man Sport