On Air The Late Show Stu Peters | 10:00pm - Midnight

Union Mills through to Blincoe Cup final


Union Mills have battled their way to the final of the Standard Bank Blincoe Cup.


Yesterday they defeated Castletown 'B' by eight wickets and now face Peel and St John’s B at Mullen-e-Cloie.



The Millers batted first, but were shot out for 123.


All was well to begin with as Chris Nash hit 43 and opener Jody James scored 30. 


Then Jack Newbery and Richard Jackson entered the attack and took six wickets in four overs.


Jackson ended with 3 -3 and Newbery took 3 -9.



In reply Castletown found the going difficult, despite an assured 37 from Daniel Laughlin and 29 by Andy Ronan.


Chris Nash, Bruce Wagstaff and Eddie Clague each claimed two wickets and three run outs led to a closing total of 109.



The Town then batted again, needing to overhaul a 14-run deficit.


Openers Ronan and Laughlin passed this hurdle and went on to post a very good stand.


Laughlin was the first to go after scoring 36, but Ronan stayed to the end for a splendid 86 not out.



The southern club made 155 for 3, which left the Millers needing 142 for victory.


Richard Taylor with 20 and Manoj Patel, who made 23, started well but then a run out and a Ronan wicket brought Bruce Wagstaff to the crease.


In a whirlwind display of big hitting, he smashed 87 not out.


A stunned set of bowlers had no answer to this power display and one over actually cost 27 runs.



Union Mills reached their target in just eleven overs and will be in good spirits to retain the cup they won last year.


The final is on Sunday at Mullen-e-Cloie, starting at 11am start.