On Air Late Lunch Christy Dehaven & Howard Caine | 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Douglas East residents head to polls

Seven candidates battle for seat in the Keys

A new member will be voted into the House of Keys today, as the constituents of Douglas East go to the polls.

The seven contenders are indepedents Clare Bettison, Kurt Buchholz, Richard Falk, Jon Joughin, John McBride, Geraldine O'Neill, and LibVan candidate Cat Turner.

Five polling stations are open in the Island's capital from 8am to 8pm.

The returning officer for the count this evening is Terence MacDonald, who said the high number of candidates could make for a close result.

The polling stations are located at -

Scout Hall on Demesne Road, two polling stations at the Methodist Church on Loch promenade, Douglas Town Hall on Ridgeway Street and the Youth Arts Centre on Kensington Road.

More from Isle of Man News