On Air Night Flight | Midnight - 5:00am

McGuinness wins rerun Senior TT

Morecambe Missile also bags new lap record

John McGuinness has won the Senior TT, following a race which saw some blistering lap times.

The top four after the first lap - McGuinness, Ian Hutchinson, James Hillier and Bruce Anstey - all averaged more than 131mph from a standing start.

McGuinness set a new Senior lap record of 131.85mph.

He then set a new absolute lap record of 132.701mph on his second circuit.

James Hillier and Guy Martin both topped 132mph also.

It was a classic McGuinness performance - establishing an early lead which he extended as the race progressed, before easing off on the last lap.

Here's the moment he took the chequered flag, and his 23rd TT victory: (play audio)

James Hillier was second, Ian Hutchinson third.

The race was restarted and held over four laps after a red flag first time around.

Jamie Hamilton crashed at the 11th Milestone by Burnside, just after Cronk-y-Voddy and was taken to Noble's Hospital by air ambulance with serious injuries.

More from Isle of Man News