On Air Manx Radio Update Andy Wint | 5:30pm - 6:00pm

Raft of new local authority chairs appointed

Members will serve until 2020

As a new municipal year begins this month, commissioners across the Island have started electing new chairmen and women to guide them over the next twelve months.

Each of the 22 local authorities will have held an AGM by the end of May, to assign roles to members.

A raft of changes were made at local authority meetings last night.

In Onchan, Robin Turton has been elected chairman, taking over from Martin Macfarlane, with Kathryn Williams taking the role of vice-chair.

Andy Cowie will remain in post in Ramsey, as will Luke Parker as deputy.

Garff Commissioners chose Marinda Faragher to head up their board, assuming the role from Nigel Dobson, whilst Jamie Smith was elected as her number two.

In Michael parish, retiring chairman Andrew Berry handed the reins to his successor Matthew Diehl, and Steve Shaw was made vice-chairman.

Each will now serve until May 2020, before the local authority general elections are held.

More from Isle of Man News