On Air Saturday Live Paul Moran | 12:30pm - 5:00pm

Speaker to head scrutiny select committee

The line-up of a Tynwald Select Committee charged with looking into how government departments are scrutinised has been announced.

Speaker of the House of Keys Steve Rodan will chair it.

He'll be joined by Clare Christian MLC and MHKs Phil Gawne, Chris Robertshaw and Juan Watterson.

At Tynwald this month Mr Watterson tried to get a bill through which would have set up standing committees to oversee the work of government departments.

However, an amendment brought forward by Allan Bell, which was approved, watered that down to the present situation.

More from Isle of Man News