On Air Daybreak George Ferguson | 6:00am - 9:30am

Voting opens for Malew by-election

Polls open from 8am-8pm

Malew residents will choose their new local government representatives through a by-election today (Thurs 12).

Five hopefuls are vying for three spaces, following the resignation of chairman Bob Pilling, and Barbara and John Brereton in July.

The candidates are Nigel Bazley, Tim Chamberlain, Leo Cussons, Tanya Mackrell and Kevin Oliphant-Smith.

A sixth name will appear on the ballot paper - Mr Kurt Roosen - however, he has since withdrawn from the contest.

There are 1,761 voters registered in the parish, with each person permitted to cast three votes.

Polls are open between 8am and 8pm at Ballasalla Village Hall.

More from Isle of Man News