On Air Night Flight | 1:00am - 6:00am

Cav and Aalin the pick up main prizes at the Sports Awards

Cyclist Mark Cavendish and archer Aalin George are the Isle of Man Bank Sportsman and Sportswoman for 2011.

The presentations took place at a gala ceremony at the Villa Marina on Thursday night.

There was a surprise announcement too - the Manx Missile is to sponsor three youngsters for the next two years - the first recipients of Cavendish Scholarships are cyclist Chris Nicholson and swimmers Charlotte Atkinson and Laura Kinley.

There was double cheer for hockey with the Isle of Man women's national side and their coach Jon Whiting winning prizes.

Swimming took both under-21 classes with Charlotte Atkinson and Grant Halsall picking up the awards.

Commonwealth Youth Games volunteer coordinator Victoria Karren who received the administrator gong.

Motorcycling star Conor Cummins was named the ambassador of the year, the disability athlete prize went to Zoe Lambie, and Bryan Sharp was honoured for his lifetime involvement with Tennis.

Two new additions were made to the Manx Sporting Hall of Fame at the National Sports Centre - Grant Halsall and cyclist Peter Kennaugh - and Cav's entry has been updated with a new picture.

More from Isle of Man Sport