On Air Night Flight | Midnight - 6:00am

Cronkbourne win Blincoe Cup

Finch Hill defeated in final

Cronkbourne lifted the Blincoe Cup at the weekend, after beating Finch Hill by 51 runs in the final at Tromode.

Cronkbourne’s skipper, Nathan Knights, decided to field after winning the toss.

Finch Hill's two openers, George Burrows and Sam Barnett, led the way for them.

Burrows scored his fifth century of the season, finishing on 100 not out, and Barnett hit 41.

Only two wickets in the Finch Hill innings of 151 were lost.

Cronkbourne replied and their batsmen batted well as a team; nearly all the top order posted a score of some sort, but Corbin Liebenberg top-scored with 53.

The Finch Hill bowlers struggled to break through and Cronkbourne finished with a score of 183 for 5 from their sixteen overs.

After lunch, Cronkbourne returned to the crease for the second time.

Nick Wild and Harry McAleer opened on this occasion and the score reached 65 before Wild was out for 30.

The Finch Hill bowlers couldn’t take wickets to any great extent, although Tom Burrows finished with figures of 2 for 18 from his ten overs.

McAleer stayed at the crease and finished with his team’s best score of 58 not out.

Cronkbourne posted a reasonable score of 151 for the loss of five wickets, which set Finch Hill a target of 184 to win the trophy.

Josh Sinclair was the partner of George Burrows this time around.

He had made 26 before he was bowled by JJ Griffin with the score on 66.

Burrows had reached 47 when he was out caught by Corbin Liebenberg off the bowling of Nathan Knights.

Finch Hill had edged their way to 115, when Cavan Burden of Cronkbourne took two decisive wickets - Sam Barnett was out for 20 and Tom Burrows for 13.

Burden finished with figures of 2 for 13.

Finch Hill had lost the impetus and they could only manage 132 for the loss of five wickets, handing Cronkbourne victory by 51 runs.

More from Isle of Man Sport