On Air Night Flight | 1:00am - 6:00am

Football Writers' Awards handed out

L-R: Danny McMahon, Chris Bass Sr, Matthew Quirk, Joe Walters, Lee Gale, Andrew Lodge (Credit: Paul Hatton)

Gale named top player

The Isle of Man Football Writers' Awards took place at Peel Football Club last night.

One of the club's players, Lee Gale, was named player of the year.

The young player of the year trophy went to Laxey's Joe Walters.

The manager of the year award was shared by Corinthians' Danny McMahon and St George's boss Chris Bass, Sr.

Between them, they won all four major trophies in Manx football last season: the Whites claiming the FA Cup and Railway Cup and Geordies the Premier League and Hospital Cup.

Douglas Athletic's Matthew Quirk was goalkeeper of the year.

Referee of the year was Andrew Lodge.

More from Isle of Man Sport