On Air Alex in The Afternoon Alex Brindley | 3:00pm - 5:30pm

Kevin and Rachael take year opener

Kevin Loundes and Rachael Franklin were the winners of the first on-Island cross country fixture of 2014.

Loundes finished the Crossags course in a time of 34 minutes and 44 seconds at the Microgaming sponsored fourth round of the winter series and IOM Cross Country Championship.

Lloyd Taggart (35.22) and Alan Corlett (35.44) completed the top three.

Rachael Franklin (30.50) was a clear winner in the women’s race from Gail Griffiths (32.24) and Rebecca Wallace (33.16).

The other class winners were Jason Moore (junior men), Joseph Ricciardi (under 17 men), Katie Astin (under 17 women), David Mullarkey and Laura Dickinson (under 15s), TJ Phair and Lydia Morris (under 11s) and Oliver Sykes and Mairi Harrison (under nines).

More from Isle of Man Sport