On Air Early Breakfast Tom Cain | 5:00am - 7:30am

Nash retains IoM trialthlon title


Ramsey's Mooragh Park was once again the setting for the Microgaming Isle of Man Triathlon Championships.

In perfect racing conditions, a record entry of 120 competitors set off over the two sprint and standard distance races.

Andrew Nash retained his title of IoM standard distance champion in a blistering 1:59:39 for 1500m swim, 40km cycle and 10km run.

Seventeen-year-old Joseph Ricciardi came home in second place in an outstanding 2:06:02, in this only his second race over the distance.

Making a comeback after a year off, Antony Bell-Scott was third.


In the ladies' race 19-year-old Hannah Howitt took the honours, with Lynsey Elliott second and Gaynor Evans third.


Fifteen-year-old Beccie Storrie was first Lady in the sprint race, with Jen Kelly taking second and Lisa Dunwell third.

In the men's race, swimmer Adam Johnstone showed his all-round strength, winning in 1:07:54.

Ian Rowley was second and Paul Cubbon third.


In the standard team event 'Just Doing It for Fun' - Graham Annett, Gianni Epifani and Ollie Lockely - took the win.

The sprint team winners were 'A Tad Slow' - Debbie Wignall, Alan Wignall and Tom Howitt.

More from Isle of Man Sport