On Air Manx Radio Breakfast Ben Hartley & Sian Cowper | 7:30am - 9:30am

Peel and St John's retain premiership crown

Defeat for rivals secures title

Peel and St John’s have won the Isle of Man Premiership for the second year in a row.

On Saturday, Cronkbourne were defeated by Castletown and so, with only one game left, cannot overtake the Saints at the top of the table.

The Town were dismissed for 94 but then bowled out Cronkbourne for 60.

Seb Hopkins took 5 for 21 and Tom Kennaugh 4 for 11.

In the Blincoe Cup semi-finals Valkyres beat the Isle of Man Schools by nine wickets, while Peel and St John’s had a narrow six run victory at Crosby.

For Valkyres, Paul Fleming hit 52, Shaid Raffiqi was 50 not out and Andy Coulson took 4 for 15.

The top score of the day came from Crosby’s Kevin Kniveton with 85 not out.

At the Malvern Junior Festival, the Island Under 11s played two T20 matches.

They beat Pembrokeshire by 37 runs, but lost by 27 runs to Norfolk.

Dolin Jansen hit 44 off 32 balls.

More from Isle of Man Sport