On Air After Hours Rhian Evans | 10:00pm - Midnight

Shortlist revealed for IoM Sports Awards

Cyclist Amelia Sharpe has been nominated for Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

Island sports stars to be honoured at annual ceremony

The shortlist for the 2017 Isle of Man Sports Awards sponsored by Microgaming PlayItForward has been revealed, as the great and the good from Manx sport celebrate their achievements over the past 12 months.

Eleven awards are up for grabs with those who have lit up the local scene and the athletes who have impressed on a global stage.

Winners will receive their awards from guest of honour: five-time Paralympic swimming champion Ellie Simmonds.

British swimming champion Charlotte Atkinson, gymnast Tara Donnelly, 2017 Parish Walk winner Liam Parker and Jonathan Rea - who came second in the BBC Sports Personality of the Year award - are among those nominated for the Sportswoman and man of the Year awards respectively.

Highly-rated Celtic left-back Kieran Tierney, Anna Christian, who's preparing for the Commonwealth Games later this year, and 18-time Island Games medallist Hannah Riley are also in contention.

There are gongs for young athletes who've impressed in the under-21 categories, Disability Sportsperson of the Year, 2017 IOM Ambassador and the highly-coveted Lifetime Achievement award.

Douglas Rugby Club and the men's Island hockey side have made the shortlist for the Team of the Year accolade.

Other categories include 2017 Administrator of the Year and 2017 Veteran Sportsperson of the Year.

The ceremony takes place at the Villa Marina on Thursday, 1 March.

Full shortlist:

2017 Sportsman of the Year

Matthew Bostock (cycling)
Lee Cain (motorcycling)
Dan Kneen (motorcycling)
Jamie McCanney (enduro)
Liam Parker (athletics)
Jonathan Rea (motorcycling)
Joe Reid (athletics)
Kieran Tierney (football)

2017 Sportswoman of the Year

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)
Anna Christian (cycling)
Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)
Hannah Howitt (triathlon)
Erika Kelly (athletics)
Hannah Riley (athletics)

2017 Under 21 Sportsman of the Year

Thomas Bostock (cycling)

Matthew Bostock (cycling)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

Joe Harris (athletics)

Nick Harvey (gymnastics)

Adam Long (football)

Kieran Tierney (football)



2017 Under 21 Sportswoman of the Year

Anna Dawson (golf)

Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)

Tara Ferguson (cycling)

Jessica Li (badminton)

Olivia Marshall (swimming)

Amelia Sharpe (cycling)



2017 Disability Sportsperson of the Year

Lawrence Dyer (athletics)

Letisha Ellis (swimming)

Ben Grainger (swimming)

David Hudson (football)

Sean Jackson (football)

Duncan Watterson (Special Olympics)


2017 Team of the Year


Douglas Rugby Club

IOM Disability Football Team

IOM Men’s Football Team

IOM Women’s Football Team

IOM Men’s Hockey Team

Manx Harriers Senior Ladies Team


2017 Administrator of the Year

Ray Cox (athletics)

Richard Fletcher (cycling)

Tony Jones (football)

Tim Leeming (hockey)

Clive Parrish (swimming)

Baillie Watterson (badminton)


2017 IOM Ambassador

Charlotte Atkinson (swimming)

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Mark Christian (cycling)

Philip Cringle (rugby)

Tom Gandy (golf)

Peter Kennaugh (cycling)

Tim Kneale (shooting)


2017 Coach of the Year

Andy Fox (athletics)

Tim Kennaugh (cycling)

Brian Laing (swimming)

Valery Molchanov (gymnastics)

Carl Murray (rugby)

Jon Whiting (hockey)


2017 Veteran Sportsperson of the Year

Julie Canipa (motorcycling)

Karen Chiarello (athletics)

Gianni Epifani (athletics and cycling)

Gail Griffiths (athletics)

Dave Molyneux (motorcycling)

Lesley Sleight (field archery)








More from Isle of Man Sport