On Air The Morning Show Marc Tyley | 9:30am - Noon

Corkish gains LegCo seat, Wild retains his

Two of the seven candidates vying for a seat in the Manx parliament's upper house - Legislative Council - have been elected this morning (18 March).

Sitting member Tony Wild and West Douglas MHK Geoff Corkish gained sufficient votes in the House of Keys in the first round of balloting.

Mr Wild topped the poll with 16 votes while Mr Corkish just passed the threshold with 14.

Candidates need to win at least 13 votes to win a seat in LegCo, irrespective of the number of candidates.

In the first round Linda Bowers Kash and Peter Hill, both nominated by Liberal Vannin leader Peter Karran polled just 3 votes each. Michael Coleman won 9, Nigel Malpass 8 and Juan Turner, who's defending his seat in LegCo, attracted 9 votes.

None of the candidates succeeded in a second round of voting.

The result triggers a by-election in West Douglas, which Geoff Corkish has respresented since 2006.

More from Isle of Man News