On Air Night Flight | 1:00am - 5:00am

Cretney disappointed over Chief Minister voting

LegCo votes to keep its say

David Cretney MLC says he is disappointed Legislative Council has voted down a bill to see just the House of Keys elect the next Chief Minister.

Mr Cretney was trying to steer The Council of Ministers (Amendment) Bill through LegCo but it was defeated at first reading by six votes to two.

It now appears to have little chance of being adopted ahead of the General Election in September.

Mr Cretney says the debate in the upper chamber was depressingly familiar.

The six MLCs who voted against the bill were David Anderson, Michael Coleman, Geoff Corkish, Tim Crookall, Bill Henderson and Juan Turner.

More from Isle of Man News