On Air The Morning Show Marc Tyley | 9:30am - Noon

Five declare in third LegCo election

Five candidates including two new names, will contest the next election for two seats on Legislative Council.

Two new names have joined the slate of candidates bidding for a seat in the Manx parliament's upper chamber Legislative Council.

The Island's former High Bailiff Michael Moyle has thrown his hat into the ring, along with Adrian Tinkler a former commissioner in Rushen.

Nominations for a third election to fill two vacant seats in LegCo closed this afternoon (5 June).

Two previous attempts have resulted in stalemate, after numerous rounds of voting in the House of Keys.

MHKs Tim Crookall and David Anderson, and Phil Braidwood who is seeking another term as an MLC, will all stand for a third time.

A special sitting of the Keys will be held on 22 June to try and fill the berths, and Speaker Steve Rodan says he will call a further sitting in August if the vacancies are not filled.  

More from Isle of Man News