On Air One to Three Christy Dehaven | 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Local authority elections confirmed

Eighteen per cent of positions remain unfilled

There will be elections in seven of the Island's 22 local authorities later this month.

The deadline for withdrawals or objections passed at 2pm, to produce a final list of confirmed candidates.

Voters will go to the polls in Castletown, Peel, Port St Mary, Ramsey and Patrick. 

Public elections will also be held in the newly-formed district of Garff - where Laxey is being contested - and in Douglas.

Of the six wards in the capital, only two have attracted more candidates than seats - that's Victoria and Hills.

Around the Island, a total of 123 candidates are standing.

That leaves 27 - or 18% of - positions unfilled. 

Where seats do remain unfilled, the vacancies wil be readvertised following the election.

So, you can expect by-elections in Braddan, Bride, Murray's Ward in Douglas, German, Jurby, Lezayre, Lonan, Malew, Marown, Onchan, Port Erin and Ramsey South Ward.

Ballaugh is looking for an extra four commissioners, having had only one candidate apply for its five seats.

The all-Island loal elections take place on Thursday, April 28.

More from Isle of Man News