On Air Saturday Live Paul Moran | 12:30pm - 5:00pm

Paul Craine and Diane Kelsey elected to Legislative Council

23 House of Keys members present for internal vote

The two vacant slots in the Legislative Council have been filled.

Statistician Paul Craine and former private secretary, and chief of staff to the Lieutenant Governor, Diane Kelsey have been elected to the roles by Members of the House of Keys this morning.

Mr Craine received 16 votes and Mrs Kelsey 13.

All members were present, some virtually, this morning with the exception of Douglas Central MHK Chris Thomas.

The pair will be in the role for 15 months before facing re-election.

The details of the remaining votes will be released shortly.

The other candidates standing for LegCo were Bill Shimmins, MaryBeth Coll, Craig Brown, Corelli Bentham, and Conor Keenan.

After the voting John Moss spoke to the two newly-elected members:

More from Isle of Man News