On Air Saturday Night Party Kerry Gascoyne | 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Corinthians' record-breaking league title

Picture credit: Paul Hatton

Sixth championship for Ballafletcher side

Corinthians are the Regency Travel Women's League champions for a record sixth time.

They thrashed Old Boys 9-1 at Ballafletcher last night to claim the title, doing most of the damage in the first period to lead 8-0 at half time.

Lucy Kinrade, Lydia Shaw, Lauren Christian, Lisa Costain (two), Corey Halsall (two), Holly Sumner and Lynette Corran scored for the home side, with Lauren Parkinson hitting the visitors' solitary strike.

Isle of Man FA vice-president and Corinthians stalwart Tony Mepham gave a quick speech before the medals were presented by the IOMFA’s Paul Turner.

The trophy was presented to Corinthians captain Anna Dillon and vice-captain Shelley Simpson, the former winning it for a record ninth time.

Corinthians pursuit for silverware has been phenomenal in recent years.

They have amassed 15 major honours (six league titles, five floodlit cups and four FA Cups), lifting the treble twice.

All but one of the titles were won this decade.

More from Isle of Man Sport