On Air Sundown Judith Ley | 9:00pm - 1:00am

Salute to veteran marshal's TT spirit

The longest-serving TT marshal has become the first non-racer to win the coveted PokerStars Spirit of TT Award.

Eric Alexander from Port St Mary who celebrates his 80th birthday next month, was presented with the accolade on behalf of the Isle of Man TT Marshals Association.

Eric began marshalling in 1952 at the age of 19, becoming a senior member of the 'orange army' responsible for sector three between Greeba Castle and Ballig Bridge.

The veteran volunteer was picked-up in from his duty post at Gorse Lea by a TT course car on Friday after the Lightweight TT and whisked to the Grandstand where he was presented with the Spirit of TT trophy by PokerStars Director of Corporate Communications Eric Hollreiser.

He was then returned to his position ahead of the senior race.

Mr Hollreiser said Eric was chosen from among a number of deserving candidates on and off the track.

He described the association as 'a real local community organisation that receives great support from the visitors every year and are an integral part of the event's success.'

Previous winners include Paul Owen in 2010 and Conor Cummins in 2011, while sidecar duo Ben and Tom Birchall won the award in 2012.

More from Isle of Man Sport